To obtain a marriage
license, each applicant must be at least 18 years old (or 17 years old with
parent or legal guardian's consent).
The State of Oregon
does not require medical examinations or blood tests.
Oregon State law does
not allow a marriage of first cousins or nearer kin.
No witnesses are
required to receive the license. Two witnesses are necessary at the wedding
If you are planning a
marriage after a divorce, your final divorce date is required on the marriage
license application. A marriage can take place one day after the final date of
a divorce (as long as the three-day waiting period is met).
There is a three-day
waiting period from the day our office provides you with an active license
until a license may be used. The waiting period can be waived under certain
circumstances and only when a waiver is approved by the County
Clerk. There is an additional fee to waive the three-day waiting period.
The license is valid
for 60 days after the effective date. The license is valid only in Oregon.
The application form
requires that both the bride and groom identify the legal names they will be
taking after marriage. (see additional rules regarding change of name.)
Cost of a License:
license fee is due when the license is submitted to the Clerk's Office. If mail
service is requested, send the $50 fee plus $3 for postage. Make your check
payable to: Clatsop County Clerk.
You may apply for your marriage license in person, or by mail:
In person: You can come to the Clatsop County Clerk’s Office at 820 Exchange Street, Suite 220, Astoria, OR 97103 and complete the application process in our office. Both parties must complete and sign a portion of the application.
By mail: If you wish to apply by mail, you can request an application by calling us at (503) 325-8511. You may request an application through the mail by sending an e-mail to email@example.com (please include your mailing address and telephone number with your e-mail request.) You may also request an application by mail by printing and completing this form and mailing it to the Clatsop County Clerk's Office, 820 Exchange St., Suite 220, Astoria, OR 97103.
You can complete the process by mail or by bringing it into the County Clerk's Office for activation at least three days prior to your wedding day.
How to Apply:
The marriage license instruction form will assist you when
completing your application form. All required information must be typed or
printed legibly and completely, otherwise, the application will be returned.
Both parties must complete the highlighted portions of the form (questions 1-22, 36-41b and sign at line 25 and 26). Only if one of the parties is under the age of 18 do questions 23 and 24 apply. Do not complete the "official use only" section.
Please review the Last Name Taken After Marriage information sheet provided by the State of Oregon which provides information regarding possible name changes for either party upon marriage.
When the application and fee are received in the office of the County Clerk, we will activate the license and a three-day waiting period will begin.
When to Apply:
If you are applying in person, apply
at least three days, but not more than 60 days, prior to the ceremony date.
If you are applying by mail, please allow sufficient time for mailing.
The license will be valid for 60 days thereafter.
The waiting period can be waived only under certain circumstances at the discretion of the County Clerk or a Judge. Contact the
Clerk's Office for additional information.
After the Wedding:
Within five days following the date of your wedding ceremony, your completed wedding license must be returned to the Clerk's Office for recording.
Obtaining a Certified
Copy of your Marriage License:
As part of your marriage license packet, you will
receive an embossed marriage certificate for the bride and groom. This is a
memento certificate and is not a legal marriage record.
Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles and the Social Security Administration
require a certified copy of your marriage record to make a name change. You may
purchase a certified copy of your marriage record through the mail for $7.75
(plus $3 postage and handling). When requesting the license, please indicate
the date of the wedding, the name of the bride and groom and the address where
the license should be mailed. Please make the request two weeks after the date
of the wedding to make sure the document has been recorded.
Ceremony Officiated by the County Clerk:
County Clerk can perform marriage ceremonies in the Clerk's Office. The fee for
this is $100. For information or to schedule an appointment to have a marriage
ceremony officiated by the County Clerk, contact our office at (503) 325-8511
A partial list of Wedding Officiants in
Clatsop County is provided for your convenience:
Ansley, (503) 436-0220 or (866) 871-0220
Timothy Barnhart, (503) 440-0023 or (503) 440-3693
Barbara Beach, www.yourweddingatthebeach.com
Paula Brownhill, (503) 325-8555
L. Chatterton, (503) 738-3183
County Clerk, (503) 325-8511
Palmer J. Crandell, (503) 861-1712
Abe Guretzki (Ebenhart), firstname.lastname@example.org
Maureen Haley, www.portlandministers.com
Hernandez, (503) 325-4547
Kris Huckins, (503) 470-0150
LaPoint, (503) 791-4111
Sue Lenahan, email@example.com
Cindee Matyas, (503) 325-8555 or (503) 440-2104
Elisabeth McCrea, (503) 368-4171
Bob Moberg, (503) 738-6388
Philip Morrill, (503) 325-1200 or (503) 791-7876 (cell)
Phil Nelson, (503) 325-8536
Trudie Phillips, (503) 738-9919
H Mark Ray, (503) 440-4193
Ann Robben-Dott, firstname.lastname@example.org
Susan Romersa, email@example.com
Heather Rose, firstname.lastname@example.org (503) 343-5646 (Portland)
Dale Shafer, (home) (503) 436-2898, (work) (503) 436-1027
Tamsel Tack, email@example.com
Mary C Trees, D.D, PhD, firstname.lastname@example.org (503) 738-6248
Kevin Violette, email@example.com
West, firstname.lastname@example.org (503)
Glenn Williamson, (402) 606-9107
Joan Levine &
Alan Winter, www.yourpersonalceremony.com