Certified Home Inspectors

Certified Home Inspectors


Oregon law requires anyone who performs home inspections of two or more components to be certified by the Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB). An inspector must pass a test to become certified and must complete continuing education courses to renew certification. Each certified home inspector must be an owner or an employee of a business licensed with the CCB.

Licensing and certification do not guarantee quality of work or mean the inspector will not make a mistake. Licensing only offers some financial protection for the customer.

Businesses that perform home inspections are licensed with the CCB as a General or Specialty Contractor or Inspector. They have a $10,000 bond an either a $100,000 or $500,000 liability insurance policy. (A few licensed general contractors are allowed to do home inspections without being certified. Contact the CCB).


The CCB provides consumer protection and regulates the home inspection industry.

To check out a home inspection business, first get the business's license number. CCB businesses are required to show their license number on individuals’ business cards, in written contracts and inspection reports, and in all newsprint and phone directory advertisement.

Check with the CCB to determine if the license is active and if there are any open claims filed against the business. You can also find out if the person performing the home inspection is an Oregon-Certified Home Inspector.

To check if the business is licensed and individuals can legally do inspections, contact the CCB at (503) 378-4621 or check at http://www.oregon.gov/CCB/